Kendo!!!!

Today was my very first Kendo practice!!! For those of you who don’t know what Kendo is here are two definitions:

Wikipedia’s: Kendo (剣道, kendō?), meaning “Way of the Sword“, is a modern Japanese martial art of sword-fighting based on traditional Japanese swordsmanship, or kenjutsu[2]. Kendo is a physically and mentally challenging activity that combines strong martial arts values with sport-like physical elements.

Mine: The Japanese version of fencing where you get to yell and whack people with bamboo swords.

Anyways today was the first practice that I attended and the group attending was fairly small, there were five new students with me being the only girl. We just learned some of the very basic exercises but we also got to watch the club members practice duel. My favorite part was when we got to whack our partners stick and yell “MEN” it seemed fairly appropriate 🙂 The practice was two hours of a good workout and I can easily say that I will plan on heading back again Thursday. Sunday is the welcome party and if I can make it till then I think I’ll join!

P.S. I love it when spellcheck only tags words in the Wikipedia definition lol

Leave a comment